Green Faerie Dust

Minty Magic

A leprechaun would be very upset to be called a fairy. I never really considered Saint Patrick’s Day to be just for the little green men, though. For me, it was fair game to get excited about all magical creatures – mermaids, fairies, leprechauns, selkies, gnomes, giants, sphinxes, even invisible cats.

Ireland

I grew up with some SERIOUS Irish roots on my mother’s side of the family. Saint Patrick’s Day was a big deal. One year, the leprachauns came into my room while I was sleeping, and arranged my Barbies on the floor to read “TEE-HEE.” Another year, I stayed up an hour past my bedtime, waiting in the playroom cupboard holding onto the string that would pull the pencil out from under the shoebox trap I had made, catching my green little friends inside.

My favorite Saint Paddy’s Day joke was the gallon of green milk I found one morning when I went to get a bowl of cereal. My mother must have used a lot of food coloring for that one.

And that yummy green milk.

Happy St. Paddy’s Day! Be green. Be safe. Be Irish. :)

Leave a Reply

